Youth Intern Profile: Deise Mendes

Deise MendesHello, my name is Deise Mendes. I am 16 years old, I’m a sophomore at Excel High School in South Boston. During this school year, I will be working at the Bowdoin Health Center as a healthy food access intern. I’m really excited to work here because I’m looking forward to learning and trying new things. During this school year I want to be focused on my school work and preparing for a job down the road.  This internship is perfect for me because it makes me think about my own health and gives me time to balance my homework too!

At my school, I’m also the president of the Multicultural Club.  That means I’m responsible for organizing and thinking up new ideas for school events.  In January, we’re running a Black History Month event that’s focused on Cape Verdeans.  I’m proud of being the president because I get to be a leader and I feel like I am good at helping out.

I was born in Cape Verde and came here when I was 8 years old. Since I came to the US, I have lived in Dorchester. To me, Dorchester is fun – I can’t lie – and I’m looking forward to learning more about the community where I live.

I have 2 brothers, one is older than me and one is younger. During my free time I like to listen to music and watch TV. Among other things, I like to play volleyball – the only sport I’m actually good at. My favorite food is pizza, even though it’s not healthy but I like it anyway.  On the other hand, my favorite vegetable is broccoli so that’s pretty good.

When I get older, I want to be a nurse because I love helping others.  Working in a health center is a great opportunity to reach my goals and learn more about my future career.  I’m looking forward to being here this year.

& that would be it folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

