Knowing What’s Healthy for You

As an intern working at the Bowdoin Street Health Center, it has come to my attention the many unhealthy foods that I am constantly consuming. Working at the health center has made me realize the difference between eating healthy and eating poorly. Not only this, but the impact that eating unhealthfully can have on someone. If you don’t have the right nutrition, you’re going to be grumpy, your health won’t be very good, it’s likely to be hard to keep a job… Down the road, all of this can even lead to more violence. Until last week when we had a big discussion about all of this, it hadn’t occurred to me that not eating healthy could have such a big impact on the community.

I have been working here for 2 weeks now and I feel comfortable enough to know which foods are unhealthy. Although I have not yet made any big changes in my own eating habits, it has come to my attention how many unhealthy meals are cooked in my house. Along with this I’ve learned that too much sodium is not good for your health because it can increase your risk of high blood pressure. Within my family, we constantly put salt in everything we cook and to top that off my family frequently buys food with a lot of sodium already in it, like canned beans. Sometimes when I watch my mom cook, I tell her she is using to much salt.

Also, I was not a big veggie eater myself. However, when my mom made soup a couple weeks ago, I decided to eat the carrots even though I usually don’t. I am not a fan of carrots but it was actually good. So changes like these are something that I am looking forward to working on. As a kid, I always ate my vegetables and even liked carrots, but as I grew up I stopped. Now that I work at this job and am learning about the health center’s healthy food guidelines, I’ve decided that I should try things little by little to help benefit my health and keep me healthy as well.

Leave a Reply

